Board of Trustees

The Forbes Library is governed by an elected board of trustees, as stipulated in the will of Charles E. Forbes. Trustees serve in a volunteer capacity. They are elected for a four-year term beginning the first Monday in January after the November municipal election, and may be re-elected.


Trustees' meetings are open to the public. Meetings are usually, but not always, held on the third Wednesday of each month, at 4:00 PM in the Watson Room on the mezzanine of the Library. Check the events calendar for the current schedule.

Minutes of past Trustees meetings

L-R, standing: Joseph Twarog, Marjorie Hess, Bonnie Burnham, Scott Morin;
seated: Janet Moulding, Russell Carrier, Peter Rowe, Elizabeth Sheirer

Board Members

The current Trustees are:

Russell Carrier, President
Peter Rowe, Vice President
Bonnie Burnham
Marjorie Hess
Joseph Twarog
Scott Morin, Treasurer
Elizabeth Sheirer, Secretary

Ms. Bonnie Burnham
13 Park Street
Florence, MA 01062
Mr. Russell W. Carrier, President
406 Park Hill Road
Florence, MA 01062
Ms. Marjorie Hess
70 Masonic Street
Northampton, MA 01060

Dr. Peter Rowe
69 Fox Farms Road
Florence, MA 01062
Mr. Joseph Twarog
21 Longfellow Road
Florence, MA 01062
(413) 584-7101
All of the Trustees may be reached c/o the Forbes Library, 20 West Street, Northampton MA 01060.

Annual Reports