Online Reference Databases

The Reference Librarians will be glad to help you design your search to get the most out of these databases. Please ask at the Reference or Arts & Music desk.
From home or office, please phone 587-1012 for help.

Please also see our extensive, frequently-updated Subject Guides for more links to recommended web sites and databases.



Databases by Subject

General reference
Newspapers
Magazines and journals
Art and Music
Auto Repair
Biography
Books & Literature
Business
Careers
Consumer Information
Education
Encyclopedias
Genealogy
Health
History & Current Events
Homework Help
Languages
Science

Alphabetical List of Databases

Academic OneFile
Access World News
American Ancestors
American Memory
Ancestry Library Edition
Biography In Context
Boston Globe
BRC: African Americans
Books and Authors
Britannica Online Public Library Edition
Britannica Online School Edition
Business Essentials: Insights
Career Transitions
Chilton Library
Consumer Reports
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Credo Reference
Daily Hampshire Gazette
Educator's Reference Complete
Expanded Academic ASAP
Gale Group Databases
Gale Virtual Reference Library
General Business File ASAP
General OneFile
General Reference Center Gold
Global Issues In Context
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health Reference Center Academic
Heritage Quest
Historic Northampton
Household Products Database
Junior Edition K12
Issues & Controversies in American History
JSTOR
Kids InfoBits
Learning Express Library
Literature Resource Center
Mango Languages
Massachusetts Career Information System Massachusetts History Online
MedLine Plus
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century
New York Times
Nursing Resource Center
NewsBank
NoveList Plus
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Oxford Art Online
Price It!
PubMed
Salem Health
Salem History
Salem Science
Science In Context
Sharpe Online Reference
SIRS Knowledge Source
Springfield Republican
Student Edition
TOXNET
U.S. History In Context
World History In Context

Database links shown in blue require a library card barcode number to log in.


General Reference, Magazines & Journals

  • Britannica Online Public Library Edition
    Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites. A great resource for homework, you can choose a library appropriate for your grade level: Britannica Reference Center for high school students and up, or Britannica Kids for middle school or elementary students. Britannica Online also includes a dictionary and thesaurus, atlases, timelines, and other features.

  • Britannica Online School Edition
    A powerful resource for reliable information to support curriculum at all levels. Choose from Elementary, Middle School and High School encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites, and the PreSchool Learning Zone. Each level includes dictionary and thesaurus, atlases, timelines, and other features at the appropriate grade level.

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference covers every major subject, with easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers. This aggregate database includes 538 hundred highly-regarded reference titles, and seamless linking to other valuable and trusted information sources to speed your research.

  • Academic OneFile  |  mobile
    Use this comprehensive periodical resource of full-text peer-reviewed content for over 10,000 manually indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including the full-text of The New York Times back to 1995 and NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts.

  • Expanded Academic ASAP  |  mobile
    Use this database to find full-text scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers for all academic disciplines.

  • General Reference Center Gold  |  mobile
    Use this general interest database for full-text and images from magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.

  • General OneFile  |  mobile
    Use this comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980- with over 9,200 titles (5,156 full-text).

  • JSTOR      library access
    available from library computers only -- ask Reference Librarian for assistance
    This treasure trove for researchers contains back issues of over 800 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The website also contains tutorials and help pages to orient new users.
  • Provided by Forbes Library. Currently this database is only available in the library building.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  |  mobile
    Over 20 full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

  • Gale Group Databases (InfoTrac Web)  |  mobile
    Extensive collection of databases and periodical indexes, with many full text magazine and journal articles online. Each database is listed separately on this page, but you can also search them all together.


Newspapers

  • NewsBank
    Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.
    Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

  • Access World News
    The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 2,000 sources.
    Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

  • The New York Times  |  mobile
    Full-text of The New York Times from 1995- as a standalone file (also included in Academic OneFile).

  • Daily Hampshire Gazette
    1/3/1994 to current
    Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of Daily Hampshire Gazette. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements and other sections.
    Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

  • The Republican (Springfield, MA)
    Full text and indexing from 1988-Current
    Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

  • The Boston Globe
    Indexing and full text articles from 1980-current
    Provided by the Mass. Board of Library Commissioners.

  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

  • Expanded Academic ASAP  |  mobile
    Use this database to find full-text scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers for all academic disciplines.

  • General Reference Center Gold  |  mobile
    Use this general interest database for full-text and images from magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.


  • Art and Music

    Also see our subject guides to Art, Music, and Arts in Western Mass.

    • Oxford Art Online
      An award-winning resource on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day
      - Over 45,000 articles on fine arts, decorative arts, and architecture
      - Scholarship written by over 6,000 international contributors
      - Over 130,000 art images, with links to hundreds of museums and galleries around the world
      - A wide range of search and browse options to explore the full text, bibliographies, biographies, and image links
      Provided through the C/WMARS library network. Log in with your library card barcode number.

    • Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century
      The online version of Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century from Salem Press contains biographical profiles of important figures in all genres of music.
      Provided by the Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

    • Price It! Antiques & Collectibles
      A searchable database of actual sales of antiques, collectibles and works of art based on retail, online auctions and select auction houses. In addition, Price It! contains a knowledge base of authoritative articles on a wide array of subjects including repair, restoration and conservation of antiques, hiring an appraiser and many specific areas of collecting.
      Provided by the Forbes Library


    Auto Repair

    • Chilton Library
      Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself (DIY) People. ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
      Provided by the Forbes Library

    Biography

    Biography subject guide

    • Biography In Context  |  mobile
      Use this database for over 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts. Indexes all print volumes of the series.

    • Contemporary Literary Criticism Select  |  mobile
      for author biographies



    Books & Literature

    Also see links, reviews, and tools on our Books subject guide

    • NoveList Plus  |  mobile
      Looking for a good book to read? Novelist can help! Contains lists, reviews, feature articles, and more. Search by authors, plot lines, series, reading level, etc.
      NoveList Plus, the non-fiction counterpart to NoveList, is a guide to narrative non-fiction such as history, biography, adventure, travel, you name it. An easy interface with many search options makes this an excellent reader's advisory tool.
      Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.
      NoveList's fiction database is provided through the C/WMARS library network and can be accessed with any C/WMARS library card.

    • Books and Authors  |  mobile
      Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian’s favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.

    • Literature Resource Center  |  mobile
      Literature Resource Center is the world’s most current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. Uniquely relevant to today’s curriculum, Literature Resource Center’s rich critical, biographical and contextual materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
      Included in Literature Resource Center is biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors, from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources, providing detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors’ lives and works, more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines, more than 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism®, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism®, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism®, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children’s Literature Review, and more!

    • Contemporary Literary Criticism Select  |  mobile
      An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers -- each entry also contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works and sources for further study.

    • Bartleby.com
      Providing free access to books and information on the web, including literature, reference, and verse.


    Business

    Business subject guide

    • General Business File ASAP  |  mobile
      Use this database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies, as well as investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries.

    • Morningstar Investment Research Center    library access  |  home access
      Morningstar Investment Research Center provides data on over 14,500 stocks, 24,800 mutual funds, 1,500 exchange-traded funds, and 700 closed end funds. They also provide analyst reports on over 3,500 securities, offering in-depth background and analyst opinions on top investments.
      Our license allows for only one user at a time, so please be sure to click the End Session button when finished.
      Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

    • Business Essentials: Insights  |  mobile
      Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. The power to answer all types of business queries is at your fingertips with this resource. Unlike other business resources available online, this comprehensive database offers a dynamic research opportunity, providing accurate, up-to-date company and industry intelligence for thousands of firms. Business & Company Resource Center provides access to a wide variety of global business information including competitive intelligence, career and investment opportunities, business rankings, company histories and much more. Search this electronic resource to find detailed company and industry news and information.


    Careers

    Careers subject guide

    • Learning Express Library
      This interactive online database features more than 300 practice tests based on official school and career exams, including ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, Firefighter, Police Officer, Paramedic, EMT Basic, U.S. Citizenship, Postal Worker, Cosmetology, and Real Estate Sales Agent & Broker Exams, among others. Includes math & reading practice for 4th grade through high school, school and college admission tests and Advance Placement tests.
      Funded by the Friends of Forbes Library

    • Career Transitions
      Career Transitions provides resources on finding a job and discovering a new career. Sections of the site focus on job search strategies, resumes and cover letters, practice interviews, schools and training programs, internships, skills and interests assessment, and exploring career paths.
      Provided by the Forbes Library

    • Massachusetts Career Information System
      The Massachusetts Division of Career Services (DCS) offers the Massachusetts Career Information System (MassCIS) free on-line to all Massachusetts residents. MassCIS is designed to provide occupational and educational information to help people make better-informed career and school choices. It includes tools such as assessment tests and resume builder, plus in depth information about careers, salaries, education and training, and job growth outlook.


    • Occupational Outlook Handbook
      The online version, published every 2 years by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes information about a huge range of occupations including job titles, nature and conditions of work, training or certification required, prospects for growth, and typical salaries.


    Consumer Information

    Consumer information subject guide

    • Consumer Reports      library access  |  home access
      ConsumerReports.org® enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on thousands of products and services, with ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice.
      In addition, this database provides in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content cover the latest consumer news — whether you're looking to learn more about budget-friendly home improvement plans, understanding the benefits and risks of retirement options, or searching for the latest recalls of baby products.
      The information is updated frequently, providing reliable data, unbiased information and more than 1000 ratings, reviews, product comparisons and video clips.

      Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

    • Education

      Education subject guide

      • Learning Express Library      library access  |  home access
        - To log in, click on “New User”
        - For "Username", enter your Forbes library card number
        - Create a password
        - you’re in!
        - next time you log in, click “Returning User.”

        This interactive online database features more than 300 practice tests based on official school and career exams, including ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, Firefighter, Police Officer, Paramedic, EMT Basic, U.S. Citizenship, Postal Worker, Cosmetology, and Real Estate Sales Agent & Broker Exams, among others. Includes math & reading practice for 4th grade through high school, school and college admission tests and Advance Placement tests.      QuickStart Guide (PDF)
        Funded by the Friends of Forbes Library

      • Educator's Reference Complete  |  mobile
        Use this mainly full-text collection of over 1100 periodicals and 200 reports for educational research from preschool to college. Every educational specialty can be found here including technology, health and bilingual education, testing, and issues in administration, funding and policy.


      Genealogy

      Genealogy subject guide

      • Ancestry Library Edition      library access
        available from library computers only -- ask Reference Librarian for assistance
        For genealogy research. Includes coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom: census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. This collection of more than 4,000 databases and two billion names is essential to having a broad genealogy collection, and its valuable content is a strong complement to HeritageQuest Online.
        Provided by Forbes Library

      • Heritage Quest Online     library access  |  home access
        HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical hobbyists and professionals.
        Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

      • American Ancestors     library access
        available from library computers only -- ask Reference Librarian for assistance
        Research database of the New England Historical Genealogical Society.
        Provided by Forbes Library

      • Ellis Island Records
        Search passenger records of the 12 million immigrants who entered the US through the Port of New York/Ellis Island between 1892-1954. Sponsored by the Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation.


      Health

      Health subject guides

      • Health Reference Center Academic  |  mobile
        Full-text database that provides full-text nursing & allied health journals, plus current and reliable personal health information.

      • Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health  |  mobile
        Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

      • Nursing Resource Center  |  mobile
        Nursing Resource Center fills the void of an online resource for beginning LPN, LVN, ADN, RN and BSN students nationwide. Created in close collaboration with nursing instructors and students and the librarians that support them, Nursing Resource Center takes textbooks and curricula into account and presents students with information that mirrors the “nursing process” — a workflow that organizes how students diagnose, treat and care for patients — as it is taught in the classroom.

      • Salem Health      library access  |  home access
        This database contains six reference sources from Salem Health: Magill's Medical Guide 7th edition, Addictions & Substance Abuse, Cancer, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, and Infectious Diseases & Conditions. Magill's Medical Guide is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers. The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.
        Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in.

      • Household Products Database
        This database links over 5,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. The database is designed to help answer the following typical questions:
        - What are the chemical ingredients and their percentage in specific brands?
        - Which products contain specific chemical ingredients?
        - Who manufactures a specific brand? How do I contact this manufacturer?
        - What are the acute and chronic effects of chemical ingredients in a specific brand?
        - What other information is available about chemicals in the toxicology-related databases of the National Library of Medicine?
        Provided by the National Library of Medicine.

      • MedLinePlus  |  mobile
        Consumer health information, news and extensive resource database. Also in Spanish.
        Provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

      • PubMed
        The National Library of Medicine's gateway to over 14 million abstracts and citations for biomedical journal articles dating back to the 1950s. Links to sites providing full text articles. If full-text isn't available online, ask the Reference Librarian about getting a copy through Interlibrary Loan!
        Provided by the National Library of Medicine.

      • TOXNET: Toxicology & Environmental Information  |  mobile
        SIS's Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program produces TOXNET®, a collection of toxicology and environmental health databases that includes the Hazardous Substances Data Bank, HSDB®, a database of potentially hazardous chemicals, TOXLINE® (containing references to the world's toxicology literature), and ChemIDplus (a chemical dictionary and structure database). Haz- Map® links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms.
        Provided by the National Library of Medicine.


      History & Current Events

      History and Local History subject guides

      • Sharpe Online Reference      library access
        Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. and Global history and culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation and the world from earliest times to the present day.
      • Provided by Forbes Library. Currently this database is only available in the library building.

      • Issues & Controversies in American History
        from Facts.com, a unique online resource of clear, concise, and balanced explanations of the most contentious issues in American history.
        It combines authoritative factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing points of view and numerous special features, so students and other users can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex historical topics.
        Biographies, timelines, background articles, photographs, and maps augment the curriculum-based coverage of historical events. Carefully selected primary documents, linking directly to the factual coverage, give the points of view on all sides of the debates as they were promulgated at the time.
        Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in

      • Global Issues in Context  |  mobile
        Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique “perspectives” articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia – including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs – enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

      • Opposing Viewpoints in Context  |  mobile
        Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

      • U.S. History in Context  |  mobile
        Gale U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

      • World History in Context  |  mobile
        Gale World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

      • Salem History
        The online version of Milestone Documents in American History from Salem Press combines 130 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
        Provided by the Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in

      • American Memory
        American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
        Provided by the Library of Congress

      • Historic Northampton Archives      library access
        Available from library computers only
        A great local history resource! Search by keyword in Historic Northampton's digital catalog and archives containing thousands of photographs, historic newspapers and maps, and extensive digital collections database. Includes the Howes Brothers Collection, genealogy resources, and images of the earliest issues of the Daily Hampshire Gazette.
        Provided by Historic Northampton and Forbes Library

      • Massachusetts History Online  |  mobile
        Use this collection for full-text articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers for coverage of Massachusetts people, places and historical events.

      • SIRS Knowledge Source      library access  |  home access

        SIRS Researcher contains relevant, current information on social issues. It includes carefully selected articles, primary source documents, websites, charts, maps, and illustrations chosen for relevancy, credibility, and curricular applicability. It's a great place to start student research.
        - Leading Issues provides instant access to nearly 100 of the most researched social issues.
        - The World Almanac Excerpts connects students to useful facts and figures.
        - Focus on Terrorism delivers the latest information on terrorism issues across the world.
        - Maps of the World offers hundreds of full-color current and historic maps.
        - Today’s News delivers up-to-the-minute news on the day’s current events.
        - Historic Documents, National Archives Documents, and U.S. Supreme Court cases provide access to hundreds of primary source documents.

        SIRS Interactive Citizenship presents basic enduring topics and dynamically links them to current information so users can understand how the past influences the present.


      Homework Help

      Also, check out the great Homework Help links on our Kids and Teen pages!

      And, more great homework databases under History & Current Events, Biography, Science, and Books & Literature.

      • Kids InfoBits  |  mobile
        Targeting the research needs of grades K-5 students. this resources incudes Blackbirch Press curriculum support references, 100 full-text age appropriate magazines and 2 newswires. Graphs, charts, maps and over 2,500 searchable images.

      • Junior Edition K-12  |  mobile
        Designed for junior high and middle school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

      • Student Edition  |  mobile
        Now with over 1,100 titles, cross searchable with eBooks, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.



      Languages

      Languages Subject Guide

      • Mango Languages  |  mobile
        Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. The system is completely web-based and remotely accessible, so you can learn anywhere you have an internet connection. As you listen to and repeat after native speakers, you'll learn more than just words and phrases. You'll learn how those pieces can be rearranged and combined to make new thoughts, new conversations, and even more practical communication.
        Provided by Forbes Library - requires a Forbes Library card to log in. To get started, click "Start Learning"; or, to track your progress, create a profile with your email address and a password and click "Sign Up".


      Science

      Science subject guide

      • Science Online      library access  |  home access
        Science Online is a complete reference database containing thousands of entries covering animal anatomy, anthropology and archaeology, astronomy and space technology, atomic physics, biochemistry, biology, botany, chemistry, computer science, earth science, environmental science, general science, genetics, health and medicine, human anatomy and physiology, marine science, physics, and weather and climate.
        Provided through the C/WMARS library network.

      • Science In Context  |  mobile
        Gale Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

      • Salem Science      library access  |  home access
        This suite of databases includes the complete contents of Salem Press's Encyclopedia of Global Resources; Forensic Science; The Solar System; Earth Science: Earth Materials and Resources; Earth Science: Earth's Weather, Water, and Atmosphere; Earth Science: Earth's Surface and History; and Earth Science: Physics and Chemistry of the Earth in a searchable online format.
        Provided by Forbes Library -- requires a 14-digit Forbes Library card to log in.


      All databases not otherwise credited are provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and Massachusetts Library System.